Resisting Temptation

20 Sep

I think that any person who has struggled with obesity and thus has a love/hate relationship with food has probably been here. And it’s really hard. My office is full of culinary aficionados. I think it’s just normal to use food as a means to social interaction.  There is always some food, somewhere and it’s usually loaded with carbs.

Fridays are our eating out days when we usually go to lunch at local restaurants. Fortunately this gives me some control over what I eat. However, most Friday mornings people will bring in Dunkin Donuts, Einstein’s Bros, muffins or all of the above. And just forget about all the birthdays, baby showers and other celebratory events. And so, when you’re trying to avoid carbs and someone sets a dozen glazed donuts and a box full of bagels 3 feet away, it can be terribly overwhelming and a little bit frustrating. 

So, how do you avoid the temptations? Cuz, to be honest, sitting here with my cup of water and Coconut Isopure isn’t doing it for me! I can’t really walk away because I sorta work here. So far they’ve been there 2 1/2 hours and I’ve resisted, but I’ve considered having “just half of one”. I’ve adjusted MFP to see what it would do to my day if I just had one.

I tell you, confronting food issues is really tough. Allison (who is now 3 weeks post-sleeve) told me that it’s hard to find anything appetizing anymore. In a way, it’s the thing I’m most looking forward to. I don’t want to be controlled by food, I want to be able to eat because I have to to fuel my body. I’m looking forward to having a tool that helps me manage these food issues.

But for now, I’m just saying no to temptation, because I know in 26 days my life will drastically change and I’m going to take control now.

3 Responses to “Resisting Temptation”

  1. themexcellentcook September 23, 2013 at 3:25 am #

    unfortunately for the first few weeks post-op you ARE controlled by food. I have found that this aspect of post-sleeve life doesn’t get better but you can improve it by making sure you have healthy food choices available to you. If this means preparing something at home and bringing it with you, then do that. I do this all the time because I am frequently in situations where food is available, and the food that is available isn’t always healthy. Don’t let the unhealthy things that got you where you are call out to you–think of them as things that will derail whatever progress you have made. Eyes on the prize of better health! You can do this.

  2. gotsleeved September 25, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    So I was pretty proud of us on Monday! WE went to lunch, ordered 1 lunch a salad with beef . I at about 3 oz of protein and you ate the salad and we were good! Glad we are in this together! I agree themexecellencook, I am controlled by food or I should say.. I am controlling my food. I am getting sick and tired of yogurt need some snack alternatives now. I’ll check out her blog.. she has GREAT IDEAS!!!

    http://laguerradelagorda.com/

    • lindsaygotsleeved September 25, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

      Allison, some snack foods that are really good high protein/low carb that I’m using now during my pre pre-op diet are almonds, string cheese, beef jerky and turkey jerky…I just found some Light & Fit Greek Yogurt for Diabetics at Walmart that is super tasty and VERY low carb

Leave a Reply

Flirty by Thirty

A Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy (VSG) Weight Loss Surgery Journey

The Odd Spot

Your Health. Your Way

Bariatric Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Two Sleevers

High Protein, Low Carb Recipes for Better Health

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

strawberrycalorie

Me. Yes, quite frankly, this is my story && my thoughts.

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

OneShrinkingTeacher

A great WordPress.com site

juliansherman.net/

Building A Business While Having A Life

The Neighborhood

telling the story from every vantage point

Table For Two UMBC (TFT-UMBC)<-Serch this!

Hunger, Obesity, School lunch

A Bariatric Story

My journey to having bariatric surgery and beyond

La Guerra de La Gorda

...fighting a battle for Mexcellent health...

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

shesjustpleasantlyplump

My (flab)normal life.

My Journey to Fit and Healthy

Transforming from fat to fit and loving it

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

